Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale 2-2 Girvan

So I should warn you that this post will be a little bare. The match took place a couple of weeks ago and unfortunately I never found the time to put a post together. Trips away to see friends, a last minute gig watching The Libertines (prior to Pete Doherty’s Houdini act) and a busy work schedule all have contributed.

Nonetheless, I did make it to the 2nd Preliminary Round match in Edinburgh and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I took my Dad along this time and it has now evolved into something for the two of us to do. It was my Dad who first introduced me to football and the delights of a team from Manchester managed by Sir Alex Ferguson, so it is great to spend time together watching some football again.

Nice little ground to watch football on a Saturday afternoon.

Nice little ground to watch football on a Saturday afternoon.

Now let me pose a question to you. Do you think it would be possible to watch a Premier League (or even a football league) match for a grand total of £17? That’s not even just for one individual and one match ticket – for £17 myself and my Dad got two match tickets, a programme, two hotdogs, a can of juice and a coffee. Tremendous value for money. You will find me making a lot of comparisons to top flight football, mainly due to my inability to fathom why they carry on pricing the average fan out. Really I do understand though, because the top clubs will know they can always find another tourist to fill the seat and spend a nice wedge in the souvenir shop.

Back to the match itself, which was lit up by a quite fantastic volley from Lothian Thistle to put them 1-0 up. On the edge of the penalty area, around 20 yards out, the young lad in bright coloured boots (what happened to good old all black football boots?) traced the flight of the ball and swung his leg with perfect timing to land the shot in the top corner. If Rooney or Messi had scored a goal like this the superlatives would never have ended.

The match was full of action with both teams wrestling for control throughout. Girvan scored against the run of play, Lothian Thistle went back in front before a late penalty for Girvan took the match to a replay. The standard was good throughout and both teams gave a good account of themselves. There was also a late red card for the individual who scored that quite sumptuous volley. As the match ticked away frustration had set in and the ref got an earful of abuse. Without hesitating the red card was held aloft and off he traipsed down the tunnel.

Standard

Leave a comment