Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale 3-0 Kelty Hearts

My second trip to Saughton Enclosure in Edinburgh didn’t start off very well as I had been out in Glasgow with friends the night before. An enjoyable night developed into an unenjoyable car drive to Edinburgh as I had to get my Dad to pull in off the motorway. That feeling where you all of a sudden you have an overwhelming desire to throw your guts up came over me, and I found myself in a deserted trading estate watering the bushes with my earlier attempts at consuming a cheese and ham sandwich. With the nausea having passed, we continued north to the capital to watch 22 fit and healthy lads participate in the 1st Round Proper of the Scottish Cup. Just to make me feel even better about myself.

The match was watched by a lot more spectators than the previous game against Girvan. The away side today brought a good number of supporters hoping to see their team progress, and the ground was inhabited by mainly Kelty Hearts fans.

Kelt Hearts supporters look on as their side trail. Also, spot the new nets - I've always loved a good set of goals.

Kelt Hearts supporters look on as their side trail. Also, spot the new nets – I’ve always loved a good set of goals.

I didn’t know very much about Kelty other than they were a few levels above LTHV and therefore were the favourites. Reading the inside page of the programme, Lothian’s chairman reinforced this and spoke of the home side needing to be at their very best to deal with what would be a real test for the team.

So it was to myself and my Dad’s surprise that LTHV ended up winning the match 3-0. We actually thought it finished 2-0 but it transpired we missed a goal just on the stroke of half-time as we went to the clubhouse for some chocolate from the vending machine. As I mentioned previously, most of the spectators were following Kelty Hearts so there was little to no cheer when LTHV scored – meaning we had absolutely no idea what was going on. I’m not one for leaving before half-time of full-time and one of the only times I do I miss a goal, typical.

The home side controlled the majority of the match and were deserved winners in the end. The team was very well organised and very assured on the ball, the jump in standard was clear from the previous round. The stronger opponent brought the best out in LTHV and as the game creeped on the visitors began to get more and more frustrated. The man between the sticks for Kelty in particular was trying to rally the troops, much to the amusement of the home bench as he complained at every decision and looked on the verge of picking the ball up and walking off the pitch (“it’s my ball, I’m not playing anymore” coming to mind from my youth).

The only disappointment came from my Dad who was looking forward to his hotdog and cup of coffee, but much to our dismay the burger van had disappeared. So I blame the absent burger van for us missing the second goal, as we would never have had to leave the ground to seek food. Nothing to do with being hungover and needing a sugar hit, honest.

The Second Round sees all teams currently plying their trade in League 2 entering the competition. Things are beginning to get more interesting and my interest and excitement is picking up as the bigger teams start to come along.

The draw was made last Thursday and we will be going back to Saughton Enclosure for a third time as Lothian host Montrose of League 2. I would have liked to get to a new ground but I am enjoying watching Lothian and seeing their progress, so myself and my Dad will firmly be backing the underdogs from Edinburgh. Hopefully the burger van will be back to give us our fix of hotdogs and fried onions.

Standard

Leave a comment